MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE VILLAGE OF PORT WILLIAMS ELECTORS

THURSDAY, JUNE 15, 2023

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: Lewis Benedict, Scott Leier, Debbie Graves, Ernie Hovell & Kim Cogswell

IN ATTENDANCE: Jessica Clahane, Partner, Grant Thornton LLP; Leanna Lockhart, Manager, Grant Thornton, Philip Porter, Chief of the Port Williams Fire Department; Brock McDougall, CAO/Clerk; Joe Keddy, Superintendent of Public Works; Darlene Robertson Financial Officer; Carol Tano, Administrative Assistant; Geoff Muttart, Lawyer, Muttarts Law Firm; John Lohr, MLA Kings North; and 33 Citizens of Port Williams

REGRETS: None

CALL TO ORDER:

The Annual General Meeting, held in the Port Williams Community Auditorium, was called to order by Village Commission Chairperson, Lewis Benedict, at 7:04 pm. The Chair welcomed those in attendance and introduced the Village Commissioners, the Village staff and the Auditors, Jessica Clahane and Leanna Lockhart, from Grant Thornton LLP. Chairperson Benedict mentioned that we had two dignitaries in the audience, John Lohr, MLA Kings North and Brian Tupper. Chairperson Benedict stated that Mr. Tupper has been an integral part of the Village for a long time as a staff member and volunteer. The Chairperson said, "Thank you for your hard work and time, you are appreciated." The Chairperson also thanked Commissioner Leier for his 23 years of service as a Village Commissioner. Commissioner Leier's term on the Village Commission is up this year and Commissioner Leier has stated that he will not be reoffering.

PRESENTATIONS:

Commissioner Ernie Hovell, spoke briefly about the history of the Provincial Volunteer Award and Harold B. Legge Volunteer of the Year Award. The nominee was presented with a certificate and a Village crest pin:

- Tyson Rovers, nominated by the Port Williams and District Lions Club with letters of support from the Port Williams Women's Institute, Murdoch C. Smith Library and the Village History Committee, was awarded the 2023 Harold B. Legge Volunteer of the Year Award and the 49th Provincial Volunteer representative for Port Williams.

- After the call for nominations was made three times and no other nominations were received Debbie Graves was declared elected by acclamation, to serve a three-year term as Commissioner.
- Chairperson Lewis Benedict thanked the Village Commission and Staff for their hard work and dedication.
- Resident Greg Coldwell stood up and thanked the Commission and Scott Leier for their hard work.

ADJOURMENT

There being no further business to come before the meeting it was moved by resident Wayne Blenkhorn that the meeting be adjourned. **MOTION CARRIED** The meeting adjourned at 7:50 pm.

Lewis R Benedic

Lewis R. Benedict, Chairperson

Brock McDougall, CAO/Clerk